click here for events around san diego

Thanks for reading

American Flag American FlagAmerican Flag


Fuller Honda



Navy announces 2017 Navy Visionary Leadership Award recipients
From Chief of Naval Personnel Public Affairs

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- The Navy announced Monday the selection of five Sailors from more than 70 nominees as the Capt. Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Award winners.
Established in 1987, the Capt. Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Awards honors Navy men and women with visionary leadership whose ideals and dedication foster a positive work environment while reinforcing and furthering the integration of women in the Navy.
The annual awards recognize the inspirational leadership of Navy officers and enlisted Sailors on active or reserve duty.

The 2017 Capt. Joy Bright Hancock awardees are:
* Senior Officer: Cmdr. Laura McMullen, associate director for Nursing Services, U.S. Naval Hospital, Guam
* Junior Officer: Lt.jg. Raven Stevenson, Anti-Submarine Warfare Officer, USS Pinckney (DDG 91), home ported in San Diego
* LDO/Warrant: Lt. Lyndsay Cirino, Personnel Officer/Educational Services Officer, USS George Washington (CVN 73), homeported in Norfolk, Virginia

The 2017 Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership awardees are:
* Senior Enlisted: Command Master Chief (AW/SW/IW/NAC) Cynthia Baker, Command Master Chief, Helicopter Maritime Strike Squadron 74 (HSM 74), Jacksonville, Florida
* Junior Enlisted: Aviation maintenance Administration 1st Class (AW) Amy Kretchman, Logs and Records Leading Petty Officer, Helicopter Sea Combat Squadron 12 (HSC 12), Atsugi, Japan

Each package was graded on the criteria of professional accomplishments, character command climate/equal opportunity of professional accomplishments, character, command climate/equal opportunity, leadership, and community involvement. The award winners went above and beyond in every category, exhibiting extraordinary service. Highlighted below are some of their accomplishments as detailed in their command award submission.
McMullen successfully led a team of 108 Service members and civilians to provide exceptional health care across three inpatient units. She expertly administered 12 provider and instructor courses and was the sole authorized course director and instructor trainer for the entire island of Guam.
Stevenson led her division through a challenging year-long Drydock Selected Restricted Availability, ensuring a complete equipment upgrade and resulting in a fully combat-ready warfighting team. As the only Weapons and Tactics Instructor onboard, she has played a major part in the development of every junior officer onboard.
While onboard the George Washington, Cirino filled critically gapped billets and streamlined pay and personnel procedures for 3,100 Sailors, as well as administered 1,400 advancement exams with zero discrepancies. She effectively forged 40 Sailors into a cohesive unit, following an unprecedented three-carrier crew swap and led the department's Maintenance and Material Management (3M) program to score the highest 3M inspection score in four years for an Atlantic Fleet aircraft carrier.
During her career, Baker led Carrier Air Wing 3 (CVW 3)'s largest squadron of 222 Sailors and 27 Chief Petty Officers embarked on four different ships through four successful workup periods, during the Navy's inaugural Optimized Fleet Response Plan deployment. Additionally, she successfully led her squadron as the first MH-60R squadron to deploy with the USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69).
Kretchman executed the responsibilities of Logs and Records Division Leading Petty Officer, Maintenance Control Leading Petty Officer, and Maintenance Control Safe-for-Flight Chief, leading 187 maintenance technicians. She meticulously managed nine of the toughest maintenance programs from the Commander, Naval Air Forces "Top 10" list of repeat program failures.
Winners will receive their awards at the Joint Women's Leadership Symposium (JWLS), June 15-16, in Norfolk, Virginia. JWLS is hosted annually by the Sea Service Leadership Association (SSLA), and this year's theme is "SSLA, Celebrating 30 Years; Charting Your Course, Navigating Your Future!" More information on SSLA and JWLS can be found here:
Capt. Joy Bright Hancock guided the Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service (WAVES) through difficult years in the later 1940s and early 1950s, a period that saw the Navy's women achieve status as part of the Regular Navy. Master Chief Anny Der-Vartanian made history as the first female in the U.S. Armed Forces to be promoted to the rank of E-9. Both of these iconic women spent the majority of their lives acting as stewards for female integration in the Navy.

Military News | Navy News | 2017 Leadership Award Winners

Fuller Ford



About | Contact | Links

The Dispatch is published by Western States Weeklies, Inc. 619.280.2985
PO Box 600600, San Diego, CA 92160