menu_homemenu_national_newsmenu_local_newsmenu_entertainmentmenu_classified  
   
 
 
Around Town
Concerts
Base Movies
MWR This Week
 
Contest
 
USO/ASYMCA

 

Around Town

Events subject to change or cancellation. Confirm before you go!

Secret Garden at New

The Griswold Awards: Extreme Christmas Holiday Light Display Contest. Like our page and post and tag your EXTREME San Diego pics and vids to win cool prizes. Dec. 1-24 www.facebook.com/TheGriswoldAwardsSanDiego/
Blue Buffalo Home 4 the Holidays Campaign Dec. 1-2 www.home4theholidays.org
Public Star Party at MiraCosta College, Dec. 1-2,8-10pm. www.miracosta.edu/events
Jingle Bell Saddlebred Horse Show at Del Mar Horse Park. Dec. 1-3,8am-5pm. www.delmarfairgrounds.com
Hard Court Tennis Championships USTA National Men’ 40, Women’s 40, Father-Son & Grandfather-Grandson Hard Court Tennis Championships at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. Dec. 1-3 www.ljbtc.com
Scrooge: The Musical at Village Church Community Theatre. Dec. 1-3 www.villagechurchcommunitytheater.org
Two-Faced Truth art exhibit at Kruglak Gallery. Dec. 1-8 www.miracosta.edu/events
The Secret in Their Eyes LIFE Movie Series: The Secret in Their Eyes at MiraCosta College San Elijo campus, Dec. 1,1-3pm. www.miracosta.edu/events
Foreign Film Fridays: Dheepan at Ruby G. Shulman Auditorium, Dec. 1,4 & 7 pm. Free admission. www.carlsbadca.gov
Kids’ Night Out at Poway Community Park, Dec. 1,4:30-9pm. www.poway.org
Fallbrook Tree Lighting at Fallbrook Community Center, Dec. 1, 5-7:30pm. www.fallbrookchamberofcommerce.org
Oceanside Art Walk in downtown Oceanside. 5-9pm. www.oceansideartwalk.org
Astronomy Night at Agua Hedionda Lagoon Discovery Center, Dec. 1, 5:30-7:30pm. www.aguahedionda.org
Christmas Concert Dec. 1-2 San Luis Rey Chorale Christmas Concert at Mission San Luis Rey. www.visitoceanside.org
Bill Murray, Jan Vogler & Friends at California Center for the Arts, Escondido, Dec. 1, 7:30pm. www.artcenter.org
December Nights at Balboa Park. Dec. 1-2 www.sandiego.gov/december-nights
Stance International Surfing Association World Adaptive Championship in La Jolla. Dec. 1-3 www.isasurf.org
Warren Miller Film Tour: Line of Descent at La Paloma Theatre. Dec. 1-3 www.skinet.com/warrenmiller/film-tour
Broadway San Diego presents Cinderella at San Diego Civic Theatre. Dec. 1-3 www.sandiegotheatres.org
Greetings at Patio Playhouse Theatre. Dec. 1-17 www.patioplayhouse.com
La Jolla Playhouse presents Summer: The Donna Summer Musical at Mandell Weiss Theatre. Dec. 1-17 www.lajollaplayhouse.org
San Diego Repertory Theatre presents Black Pearl Sings at Lyceum Theatre. Dec. 1-17 www.sdrep.org
Purdy Tree Farms at Del Mar Fairgrounds. Dec. 1-22 www.purdytreefarms.com
Dr. Seuss’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas at The Old Globe Theatre. Dec. 1-24 www.theoldglobe.org
The Secret Garden at New Village Arts Theatre. Dec. 1-24 www.newvillagearts.org
Miracle on 34th Street: San Diego Musical Theatre presents Miracle on 34th Street: A Live Musical Radio Play at Horton Grand Theatre. Dec. 1-24 www.sdmt.org
Photos with Santa at Seaport Village. Dec. 1-24 www.seaportvillage.com
Nightly tree lighting ceremony at Legoland California Resort. Dec. 1-25 www.legoland.com
Holiday Chocolate Display at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort. (760) 448-1234 Dec. 1-27 www.aviara.park.hyatt.com
Skating By the Sea at Hotel Del Coronado. Dec. 1-Jan. 1 www.hoteldel.com
Balboa Park December Nights Dec. 1 – 2 takes place for the 40th consecutive year on December 1 from 3 to 11pm and December 2 from noon to 11pm. Friends, families and the community are invited to come together for festive fun, food and attractions throughout the park, including complimentary admission to Balboa Park museums from 5 to 9pm. As the largest free community festival in San Diego, December Nights is expected to attract more than 350,000 visitors over two days.As in years past, the event offers seasonal entertainment and festive holiday lighting throughout the park. Delicious cuisine and holiday cheer are also part of the long-standing San Diego celebration. There are musical and dance presentations from San Diego Junior Theatre and San Diego Civic Youth Ballet. Time-honored traditions include Del Cerro Baptist’s Christmas Story Tree, food from around the globe at the International Christmas Festival at the House of Pacific Relations Cottages and unique gift shopping at the museum stores and Spanish Village. The museums also host a variety of special holiday-themed exhibitions and displays. Balboa Park is located at 1549 El Prado, San Diego. For more information visit www.sandiego.gov/december-nights.

Southbay Motorsports

 
 

About | Contact | Links

Navy Dispatch is published by Western States Weeklies, Inc. 619.280.2985
PO Box 600600, San Diego, CA 92160